Coeliac disease is an autoimmune condition where the body reacts to gluten from the diet. When gluten is eaten, the body mistakenly attacks the digestive system, causing damage that impedes the body’s ability to absorb vital nutrients correctly. It is usually a lifelong condition that can be managed by following a gluten-free diet.
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye, and is commonly present in foods made from these grains such as bread, pasta, cakes and pastry.
What about oats?
Oats are naturally gluten-free, but are sometimes handled together with gluten-containing grains such as wheat flour. However, gluten-free oats are handled under controlled conditions and are suitable for most people with coeliac disease.
Oats do, however, contain the protein avenin, which is similar to gluten. Research has shown that most people with coeliac disease are not sensitive to avenin, so can include oats in their diet. To find out more, you can visit Coeliac UK or discuss this with your GP.
Naturally gluten free
Many carbohydrates, including rice, corn (maize), potato, quinoa and polenta, are naturally gluten-free, which makes meal planning a bit easier.
We have a number of products in our Foodhall that suit a gluten-free diet and to make them easy to identify, we’ve added our gluten-free logo to their packaging. Products include soups, salads, sausages, burgers and desserts, while our Made Without Wheat range offers specially developed gluten-free alternatives such as gluten-free bread, pasta and meals.
We have hundreds of foods that don’t contain gluten – take a look at our gluten-free product lists to find out more. We update this list monthly, but for any further questions, or for help finding the products in your local store, please ask a member of staff.
If any of our products contain gluten as an ingredient, this will be clearly marked in bold in the ingredients list on the back of the product. If there is a significant risk that a dish may have come into contact with gluten through cross-contamination, the blue information box will carry the additional statement: ‘Not suitable for coeliacs due to manufacturing methods.’
From store-cupboard essentials to snack substitutes, these tips and tricks will help you steer clear of gluten – and still have lots to choose from
Shopping when you have allergies can be confusing. To make it easier, we provide clear labelling and have created a helpful guide on our ingredients lists